Newsletter
 

A word from the directors

Nicolas Girard Deltruc

Executive Director

THE BARE ESSENTIALS!

For the visuals of its 42nd edition, the Festival gave pride of place to Canadian artist Adad Hannah, who designed the poster based on his original photo The Screen, specially created for us as last year’s winners of the 27th Conseil des Arts de Montréal Grand Prix. The image perfectly reflects the spirit of this year’s Festival: stripped down, uncompromising, with no frills or frippery. Festivalgoers will be exposed to over 300 films from all over the world, as well as first-time-ever free outdoor screenings; a concert screening in the heart of the Quartier des Spectacles; screenings with live commentary by their directors; a special event dedicated to fashion and cinema presented by the phenomenal Diane Pernet; a retrospective and installation celebrating the talent of Jonas Mekas, godfather of experimental cinema; a lineup focused on Syria and another on Brazil; FNC Pro professional events; a host of parties, performances, concerts and the many other surprises up our sleeves. The entire lineup will be made more accessible than ever by our brand-new electronic ticket office, faster, easier and much more efficient than before — no jacket required.

The 42nd edition could never have been pulled off without the hard work and dedication of a whole enthusiastic team of loyal and committed volunteers, partners and contributors. A big thank-you to everyone!

Claude "boum boum" Chamberlan

Co-Founder and programming director

Pleasure Activist

An exciting breath of fresh air!

The gang of veteran programmers at this year’s FNC offers a fine new crop of promising films, not to mention a host of amazing discoveries that will throw you into a state of total frenzy. From cinema to new media, these inspired and inspiring works extend across every section of our 42nd edition. World premiere or not, who cares! For you, we serve only the very best: films that matter, that hold up a mirror to the ups and downs of our glorious earthly existence. Be sure to check out our Focus section for its freshly harvested works by emerging Quebec filmmakers — Aboriginal Syrian, Turkish — whose roots reach far into the local soil and beyond. It’s a heady mix that provides a piquant and exciting breath of fresh air to made-in-Quebec cinema. When it comes to pleasing the most refined palates and sating the most voracious appetites, we’ve got what it takes!

Welcome to the sexiest festival of the Americas!

Infolettre
 

Mots des directeurs

Nicolas Girard Deltruc

Directeur général

TOUT LE MONDE TOUT NU !

Pour le visuel de sa 42e édition, le Festival  a choisi de mettre à l’honneur l’artiste canadien Adad Hannah, dont l’affiche est issue d’une création originale The Screen, spécialement réalisée pour nous dans le cadre du 27e Grand Prix du Conseil des Arts de Montréal que nous avons reçu l’an passé. Une image qui reflète bien l’esprit de notre Festival pour une édition dans son plus simple appareil, sans concessions, sans frivolités, sans superficialités. On découvre et on se découvre grâce à plus de 300 films provenant des quatre coins de la planète, et pour la toute première fois des projections extérieures gratuites, un ciné-concert en plein coeur du Quartier des Spectacles, des projections commentées en direct par des réalisateurs, un événement spécial dédié à la Mode et au Cinéma présenté par l’incroyable Diane Pernet, une rétrospective et une installation du talentueux Jonas Mekas, père fondateur du cinéma expérimental, un programme dédié à la Syrie et un autre au Brésil,  des rencontres professionnelles dans le cadre du FNC Pro, de nombreuses soirées, performances, concerts et plein d’autres surprises dans le vestiaire. Tout ce programme sera cette année encore plus accessible qu’auparavant, même sans chemise ou sans pantalon, grâce à notre toute nouvelle billetterie électronique permettant un accès plus rapide, plus simple et beaucoup plus efficace. 

Une 42e édition qui, sans le travail et la persévérance de toute une équipe exaltée, de bénévoles, de partenaires et de collaborateurs aussi fidèles qu’engagés, n’aurait pu se concrétiser. Un grand merci à tous !

Claude "boum boum" Chamberlan

Cofondateur et directeur de la programmation

Activiste du plaisir

Une fougueuse bouffée d'air frais!

La gang de programmateurs chevronnés du festival vous offre cette année un grand cru de films porteurs ainsi qu'une pléiade de découvertes étonnantes qui vous mettront en état de frénésie totale. Du cinéma aux nouveaux médias, ces œuvres inspirantes traversent toutes les sections de ce 42e menu. Primeur mondiale ou pas, on s'en fout! On a toujours choisi pour vous De Best!: des films conséquents qui reflètent les tendances heureuses ou lourdes de notre sacrée vie sur terre. Allez donc jeter un coup d'oeil chez Focus, il y a un nouveau cinéma émergent réalisé par des québécois d'origine autochtone, syrienne, turque... une mixité qui donne enfin une fougueuse bouffée d'air frais à notre cinéma, et c'est tant mieux. Tout est là pour satisfaire les appétits les plus raffinés et les plus voraces.

Bienvenue au Festival le plus sexy des Amériques!